Skip to content

Spring walk with my broken lens

Five years ago today (spooky), I bought a Canon 28mm 2.8 lens and went for a walk in my neighbourhood taking pictures. It was much like today – Saturday, sunny, spring-like – but after a few pictures I’d decided to sell it/take it back because I really didn’t like it. Too sharp, too wide, too perfect, too everything-I-didn’t-like-at-the-time and it left me uninspired.

Here’s one of the rather dull shots from that day:

I took it home, placed it on my bed and it promptly rolled off onto the floor and broke beyond repair. Despite having a fondness for the blur, I wasn’t thrilled about it breaking and didn’t use it again until last year when I accidently took it on holiday.

Today the neighbourhood was blissful and bathed in warm, gorgeous sunshine.  A local market opened, new neighbours moved in, I bumped into friends, I drank apple and rhubarb juice, ate a GF Bakewell tart and sat in the sun people watching. It’s been a while since I felt like taking my camera out for a walk but today was the day to do it with the broken lens. I’ve developed a fondness for the lens now that it’s not perfect.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

5 replies »

  1. I remember when I was an assistant dropping a Nikon with 180mm Zeiss Jalna lens. The lens half sheared of at the mount. I waited to be fired, but the photographer put gaffer tape around the break and carried on. The pictures were wonderful with a tilt shift effect back in the days when that was only available with a plate camera. I think the pictures with your Canon 28mm are very neat indeed.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 138 other followers

Instagram

Is it OK to be 'pretty sure' that they're edible? #foraging #foxley #mushroom #inkcap #autumn #farm #vscocam Picking #sloes. #foxley #gin #sloegin #farm #autumn #foraging #berries Musical charms? #kitties #studio #hackney #london #knobs #music There are pretty places in Penge, don't you know. Shame about the name. #alexandranurseries #penge #squash #autumn #se20 #plants #vscocam I didn't have time to post this yesterday. #vscocam #rain #london #reflection #britishmuseum #morning #puddle Definitely not staged. #coffee #cafe #crystalpalace #window #se19 #antenna #saturday That time of year. #autumn #october #pumpkins #squash #market #crystalpalace #orange #se19 Ornamental Marnie. #window #radio #ledge #plant #catsofinstagram #latergram #jug Blurry #autumn. #leaves #blur

Flickr

.

.

.

.

More Photos

Archives

Categories

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 138 other followers

